Tags

, , , , , , ,

For as long as he can remember, Faizan Munshi dreamed of a career in health care. “I wanted to devote my life to improving people’s wellbeing,” he says. “But since no one in my family worked in medicine, I had no idea what that exactly entailed.”

Then in the eighth grade, Munshi attended a presentation by the Rutgers School of Health Professions (SHP) about its Careers in Health Sciences Program and saw his opportunity. The program, which was being offered at the Morris County School of Technology near where he lived, would allow him to explore specialties in the health field and earn college credit there during his high school years.

“No other school in my area offered courses in health care. I was intrigued because it would allow me to get a real idea of what pursuing a career in medicine would be like before I made a commitment to studies in college,” says the Mount Olive resident.

Over the next four years, Munshi studied subjects such as medical terminology, nutrition, anatomy and physiology. He also worked in a clinical setting, shadowing a physician who eventually became his mentor. “The program was an eye-opening experience that allowed me the opportunity to explore a variety of specialties,” he says.

Read more here.

